Annoyance

I recently got new shoes after I had logged over 300 miles on my old ones, and I *LOVE* these new ones.  I ran the poor sales lady ragged, asking for about ten different styles, two to three different styles.  They didn’t have the one I really wanted in my size, so she had them shipped over from another store.  I tried these on, and instantly fell in love with my new Kayano-19s.  These were my first non-New Balances in a very long time.  Long time as in I can’t remember the last time I didn’t have New Balance other than my cheerleading shoes in high school.   

The Kayanos fit so well.  With only one exception.  The heel.  It rubs.  I felt it on my first short run (~4 miles) with them.  I’ve been working on upping my mileage with them, and in fact, I even did my long 12 miles with them on Sunday.  

My four miles on Tuesday killed my heel/Achilles.  I’m pretty sure it’s due to my sock bunching, and I felt it rubbing around the 3.5 mile mark.  I was afraid that if I stopped, I wouldn’t be able to get going again.  By the time I finished (total of 4.5 miles including warm up/cool down), my skin had been rubbed and there was a nice reddish-hue around the back.         

So, needless to say, I’m taking a day off.  I don’t want to make it worse, especially when I have another long run this weekend!  Another part of the annoyance though – I’m heading out of town for work for the next two days and probably won’t have time to work out.  The gear is packed, just in case.  

Leave a Reply

