The First Step is Often the Hardest (a.k.a. Damn you, Newton)

I’m a big fan of Newton, Isaac not the fig.  My body’s is a huge fan of the his First Law: a body at rest will stay at rest (unless acted upon by force).  

In theory, I should’ve run five miles yesterday, thirteen today, and started (and completed) an exam for school.  In theory.  Yesterday, I didn’t even get out of the yoga pants and t-shirt I had slept in the night before.  I did, however, accomplish passing level 213 in Candy Crush Saga (don’t start it if you haven’t), watching a few hours of DVR’d Veronica Mars episodes (gotta get refreshed for the movie!), took a three hour nap, and cleaned out my Hotmail in box.  Yes, I still have a Hotmail email account.  It’s where I send all of my ads and random newsletters I’ve signed up for over the years, but I don’t read them.  No idea why I haven’t unsubscribed yet.  But that’s beside the point.  The point is my Hotmail inbox is now down to just over 1,000 unread emails from over 3200!  

Oh, wait.  That’s not at all the point of this post.

The point is, as much force as it requires, sometimes you need to find the force to apply to move you beyond that first hurdle.  Today, I actually got dressed.  Okay, it’s still yoga pants and a tshirt, but at least it’s not the ones I slept in the night before.  I started the exam.  At first “started” just meant I typed my name.  But, I’ve now answered most of the first question.  (And then I ruined my momentum by writing this, but I had to get it out.)  

Here’s to the other part of Newton’s first law – a body in motion will stay in motion.  And hoping that his second law holds true when I find enough acceleration to move my rear end into gear and force myself to finish this exam.  

The third law, for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction is for another time.  

Leave a Reply

