LSD & the 80s

Yes, you read that right.  LSD and the 80s.

Tonight’s cycle class was an LSD – long slow distance ride – set to 80s music.  It was glorious.  

Let me back up.  So, in case you haven’t heard, I’m running a half marathon this weekend with my sister, which means this is taper week.  This means that I have shorter runs (three miles!), and I needed to make my cycle class a taper class as well.  It worked out well that I’ve been trying to mimic the stages of the Tour de France.  Today was a rest day for them.  Which leads me to the LSD ride tonight for class.  The long slow distance is a great tool for keeping the muscles working and blood flowing without skipping workouts and letting muscles stiffen up.  It’s also a good way to start out a training cycle – it allows you to find your baseline and then check against it periodically throughout the training.  

So, tonight was an LSD on the bike.  Long slow distance trying to keep the heart rate around 75% or 7.5 on a relative perceived exertion scale.  It’s a lot harder than you think to keep your heart rate that steady for an hour!  But, it’s also very hard to keep your head in the game the entire time.  This is a part of training that’s often forgotten and much harder to through daily routines.  I mean, I myself am horribly addicted to my phone, checking FB updates, and my Twitter feed.  Granted, the 80s helped me rock out through the class, but it did take a lot of awareness to keep the heart rate and breath in check.

Someday I hope to be able to do a running LSD.  

Leave a Reply

