Post-race Slump

I’ve often heard people say they don’t want to set a goal of running a race because they feel like they’ll stop (or they did stop) after meeting the goal.  After having completed the Napa to Sonoma Half, I can definitely see how it’s better to make the fitness level a goal rather than a specific race.  I haven’t given up the running.  In fact, I’ve only missed two runs since I’ve gotten back (you know, in that really long time of less than two weeks), but I feel that one of them is justified since I donated blood that day.  

I feel like running is definitely part of my workout routine now.  I feel like a junkie looking for her next race fix.  However, I am having a hard time with the longer runs.  I feel like 5-6 miles is good.  Beyond that?  Meh.  I’m going to try to stick to a schedule of doing either 8 or 10 miles on a weekend as my long run, and I hope that keeps me in half-marathon shape for when the next one comes up.  

What I have been slacking on is this.  My goal from here out is to try to get 2-3 posts each week.  I hope to have more discussions on training methods and tools, more articles, and, of course, more running without air.  

Leave a Reply

